Exploring Four Areas of School-Age Development (Collection)

Certificate Course
CEUs: 0.2
Clock Hours: 2Hr
840 learners enrolled

Register or Log In for Access


One of the most helpful ways to gain an understanding of the needs and interests of youth between 5 and 12 is to examine their development from four different perspectives: 1) Physical Development, 2) Cognitive Development, 3) Social Development, and 4) Emotional Development. It is important for staff to keep all four of these areas in mind when planning and implementing program activities and experiences. Keeping the four areas of development in mind leads staff to design a balanced set of experiences that nurture and growth and development of the "whole child."